Hyppää sisältöön

Scholars at Risk

All Finnish universities are members of Scholars at Risk. This network protects and promotes academic freedom and safeguards scholars from harassment and violence by providing academic sanctuary to threatened academics at member universities and advocating locally, nationally and internationally. These actions are an aspect of universities’ commitment to global social responsibility.

Finnish SAR member universities come together to for Scholars at Risk Finland section, which operates under the auspices of UNIFI, Rectors’ Council of Finnish Universities since 2020. The section meets regularly in order to strengthen protection actions, to exchange best practice, and to organised local, regional and national level events. Scholars at Risk Finland works closely with other Nordic and European Sections.

Scholars at Risk Finland member universities include;

  • Aalto University
  • Hanken School of Economics
  • University of Helsinki
  • University of Eastern Finland 
  • University of Jyväskylä
  • University of Lapland
  • LUT University
  • University of Oulu
  • University of the Arts Helsinki 
  • Tampere University
  • University of Turku
  • University of Vaasa
  • Åbo Akademi University 

Scholars at Risk Finland contact information:

Professor Elina Vuola, Scholars at Risk Finland Chair 2022-2023 

Head of Development Markus Laitinen, Scholars at Risk Finland Co-ordinator 2022-2023

Twitter: @Finland_SAR